Current Site Post Only, St George, UTM, UTSC

Wi-Phi: Open Access Philosophy

2015-01-21 |

Philosophy is more than a scholarly pursuit, and the philosophy department is making it known. Toronto is now teaming up with Wi-Phi, an open access philosophy site that aims to increase the role of philosophy in the public realm. Started in 2013 by PhD students Gaurav Vazirani (Yale) and Damien Rochford (M.I.T.), Wi-Phi publishes videos[Read more…]

Dan Hooley Wins 2014 Martha Lile Love Award

2015-01-16 |

MARTHA LILE LOVE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING 2014 The 2014 winner of the Martha Lile Love Award for Excellence in Teaching Philosophy, chosen from among graduate instructors who taught courses on any of the three University of Toronto campuses between September 2013 and August 2014, is Daniel Hooley for his PHL283H5S Bioethics, UTM, Summer[Read more…]

Philosophical Gourmet Report

2014-12-10 |

Once again the Philosophical Gourmet Report is out, and once again the University of Toronto has risen in the standings. It is gratifying to see that Toronto’s overall rating puts us at the top of Canadian departments by a big margin, and tied for tenth spot internationally with very distinguished programs such as UCLA, Berkeley,[Read more…]

2015 U of T Grad Conference Call for Papers

2014-12-04 |

**Call For Papers ** Perspectives on the First Person: The Philosophical Significance of the First Person Point of View Keynote Speakers: David Chalmers and Carol Rovane April 30- May 1st   Many areas of philosophy struggle to reconcile the impartial, third personal point of view on the universe with the individual first person perspective. Philosophers[Read more…]

Hamish Russell Wins First Annual Amartya Sen Prize

2014-12-04 |

First-year Toronto PhD student Hamish Russell was one of the winners of the first annual Amartya Sen Prize, a prize jointly administered by Yale’s Global Justice Program, Academics Stand Against Poverty, and Global Financial Integrity. Hamish’s winning essay, “Abusive Tax Avoidance and Responsibilities of Tax Professionals”, was co-authored with Professor Gillian Brock of the University[Read more…]

Johanna Thoma Wins 2014 Martha Lile Love Essay Award

2014-10-01 |

The recipient of this year’s Martha Lile Love Essay Award is Johanna Thoma, for her essay, “Temptation, Regret, and Risk-Taking”. Johanna joined the department in 2012 with a background in both philosophy and economics. She is currently pursuing a PhD under the supervision of Sergio Tenenbaum, Joseph Heath and Jonathan Weisberg. Her main research interests[Read more…]